CGIS Home Carousel


Applying Geospatial Technologies

Data and Technology Meet Current and Future Demands

The Center for Geographic Information Systems (CGIS) is an interdisciplinary research center within Georgia Tech’s College of Architecture and the School of City and Regional Planning. We use current and leading technologies in the development and application of geospatial technologies.

We look at data (facts and figures) and its relationship to a specific geographic location, thus the term “geospatial.” We take that geospatial information and analyze it and create visualization tools to help our partners make informed decisions across a variety of topics such as infrastructure issues, environmental processes, and computer and technological projects.

We also aim to ensure that our projects help our partners and clients find sustainable, or lasting, solutions.

Our Portfolio

Our research yields scholarly articles that we publish, products that we create for clients, and interactive maps and applications often available to the public.

Immersive Visualization

The technologies we develop allow people to immerse themselves physically and mentally in real and virtual environments, for work or pleasure.

CGIS History

The Center for Geographic Information Systems is nearly 20 years old and has partnered with many groups on and off the Georgia Tech campus.

Our Classroom Work

CGIS faculty and researchers teach GIS courses offered through the School of City and Regional Planning at the College of Architecture.


  • Virtual Sandbox Helps Plight of Rwandan Mountain Gorillas

    CGIS researcher Tony Giarrusso recently installed a “Virtual Sandbox” in Rwanda where CGIS has been working with the Dian Fossey Gorilla Fund International for more than 10 years.

  • The Technology of Trees

    Georgia Tech’s 2010 Landscape Master Plan included a goal to increase the tree canopy to more than 50 percent. Planners knew the campus had a long way to go, but how far? The last time Tech had inventoried its trees was 2004. To get a new baseline, Landscape Services, Capital Planning and Space Management, and the Center for Geographic Information Systems (CGIS) came together to design a plan for documenting and measuring every tree on campus — with 40 different data points for each one.


  • No items available.